ANC Submits Its Candidate Lists

ANC leaders

Johannesburg – The ruling ANC party will on Tuesday submit its candidate list to the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) for the 2014 general elections scheduled to take place on 7 May this year.

The list will be submitted by the party’s national list committee led by ANC secretary general Gwede Mantashe.

“The ANC Candidate List, compromised of candidates for Parliament and all nine Provincial Legislatures, is the culmination of a thorough process of internal democracy which also included an intensive vetting process,” said party spokesperson Jackson Mthembu in a statement on Monday.

The list is to be submitted at the IEC offices in Pretoria at 2pm on Tuesday.

On Monday opposition party, the Democratic Alliance, submitted its list to the IEC, and challenged the ANC to make their list public ahead of elections.

“The voters deserve to know who they are voting for,” said party spokesperson and Gauteng premier candidate Mmusi Maimane. “We challenge the ANC to make its party lists public and announce its Premier candidates for each province.”

photo credit: GovernmentZA via photopin cc

More Stories From SABreakingNews:
Pathologist’s Testimony Contradicts that of Oscar Pistorius: Click to Read More…
Economic Freedom Fighters Eagerly Await High Court Ruling: Click to Read More…
No Answers Yet in Malaysian Airlines Mystery: Click to Read More…